Letting my property out - Newbie

Hi,

I am looking to let out a property that I part own and was wondering whether anyone had any do's and dont's.

There seems to be a lot of demand (based on information from agents and enquiries), however, I am very wary of the type of tenant I put in to the house. With it being the first time I have ever done this sort of thing I want some advice.

How do I know if the tenant is scrupulous (are there any checks I can carry out)?

Not involving an agent also means I have to fulfill all paperwork requirements and responsibilities. I understand that I have to:

Provide EPC

Protect their deposit

Write up tenancy agreement etc.

Create inventory

Are there any other things I've missed or any general advice from experience.

Sorry,  I understand that this is a very broad topic, but any advice would be much appreciated. Like I said, I'm very new to all of this.

Thank you

Imran

Welcome aboard - you are at the point that many of us have already been - it is however quite a tall order to go it alone right at the start of your first rental property as there are a bucket of pitfalls that you could fall into from being so new and I would not want to see you get your fingers burnt from the outset.  Letting law is increasingly stringent and councils are placing private landlords (and agents) under increasing scrutiny and many are facing legal action for not knowing - remember, ignorance is not a legal defence in law!

I have attached a document that I am working on for my day job which will be included in our new landlord pack and have redacted out my company's name.  It is a bit slanted and I will be amending it for my mentoring pack for landlords such as you but this will give you more of an insight of what is involved - i hope this helps.  Please bear in mind that this is work in progress and is not quite the finished article.