wookash

Opportunity to sub-let 3 bedroom house! But wait.. how to do it?!

Hello, property aficionados!

I have an opportunity to rent a whole property in which I currently rent a room. I have no experience in BTL or renting the properties. I'm genuinely a blank page when it comes to properties. Hence I'm asking for advice!

The landlord offered me to rent his whole property (directly from himself, not via letting agency). It is a THREE small beds end-terraced house. My idea is to accept his offer but then sub-rent all bedrooms and I would simply move out. I would then manage the property and sub-lets. But because I'm inexperienced I have few questions here:

1. How to convince the landlord to give me permission to sub-let his property? It is quite a sensitive topic but I'd like to know which arguments could be the best to use here. I need to be ready to answer questions like: Why can't landlord do it himself?
  2. How to deal with taxes? Do I need to pay any tax from the rental income?
  3. How long should the contracts with potential occupants be?
  4. Where do I get a Lodger's agreement from?
  5. How to negotiate extra money from the landlord to refresh bedrooms (paint, new carpets etc)?
  6. What about insurance? Should I buy insurance or should occupants buy it themselves? What type of insurance would be recommended here?

Moreover:

I would like to move out of this property then. I would like to move about 200mils to a different city. How difficult it would be to manage the property then? Is it still a sensible thing for such a newbie like me do it?

Any comments, the advice is highly appreciated as this is my first post on this forum and also I'm fresh in the topic of real estate.

Hey wookash,