First off plan investment - Liverpool L3

Hi all, 

I've been listening and researching for a couple of years on and off, I have now decided to start my investment journey!

My time is quite limited for research so I stumbled across an investment company and thought I would give them a shot to see what they can offer. So far I am quite impressed, not forcing a sale and generally being very helpful. They seem to know what they are doing and everything makes sense going by my limited knowledge. My main aim is capital gains over a long period with multiple investments for a retirement fund, but of course the rental profits need to be afloat too! Ill get to the chase and below is the recommendation they have come up with.

Off plan 1 bed 9th floor apartment 399sq ft in Liverpool L3

Just outside the business district and walking distance to city centre. Within development areas too. 

Developer is Vinco 

Due to complete Q2 2020, ground works have just began. Long stop date June 2021

Price: £132,525 with normal 75% LTV mortgage

£5000 reservation fee which is part of the deposit with exchange 28 days after.

Initial deposit at exchange 30% (£39,758)   :wacko:

Service charge: £798/year 

Ground rent: £300/year

The developer requires the purchase of a furniture pack at £2399

Funds held in stakeholder escrow and released in stages once signed off. 10% of property value insured (33% of deposit) 

They have a compulsory 3 year rental guarantee of £663/month and no service/ground rent charges are applied for those first 3 years.

To sum it up ignoring the 3 year incentive... (mortgage interest rate 2.69%)

cash invested £42,656

monthly rent £663

gross yield 6%

net yield 2.5%

ROI 7.8%

monthly pre tax profit £278.99

Although thats not with allowing any void periods!

With 5.5% interest rate it only scrapes through month to month with a profit. 

Hope that all makes sense.. i would very much appreciate anyones input!

Cheers

Mark

1 hour ago, janeen morris said: