Simple question!

Hi everyone,

I'm just getting started and a lot of things (and questions) go through my mind! One of these questions is, how would the section 21 proposal affect the example below. 

Example

• I rent out my investment property on a 12 month AST
  • At the end of the fixed term I want to either do some work and rent it out at a higher rent or increase the rent. In the latter case though, the tenant continues to pay his normal rent and/or refuses to pay the increase or move out. 

Is it correct to think that the tenant will need to build up 8 weeks of arrears to use section 8 (mandatory ground)? Am I missing something?

Thanks all. Your help is much appreciated.

Alex

• 4 weeks later...

Hi Alex,

I think I understand what your question is about (but please correct me if I am mistaken). Phrased differently, "If I want to increase my rents, will the (proposed) removal of S21 make it more difficult to do so?"

In your example, the length of the fixed term, and/or the proposed refurbishment make no difference to your situation: you want to increase the rent and are worried about a backlash from the incumbent tenant. Let's unpack your scenario:

At the end of a fixed-term agreement you are able to increase rents as you wish - this creates a new AST under your new terms, ie higher rents. If your current tenant decides not to agree these new terms, they have two options:

1) Move out and end the tenancy amicably (most likely).

2) Not move out, and refuse to pay you the higher rents (less likely); forcing them into arrears.

Under current legislation, you may now issue the tenant a S21 notice, or wait until they are 2 months in arrears and issue them a S8 notice.

So far, no surprises.