Lease Extension - How/£?

Hi, need some advice.

I own a 2 bedroom flat, with 94 years remaining on the lease. I have tentatively enquired to the freeholder to extend the lease and have been provided the attached document.

I have never done this before, but taking a quick look through the attached, it suggests that i have to pay/commit an amount of money/time/effort upfront to get to a position of knowing how much it will actually cost me to extend the lease?

.....and even then, it appears that i tell them what i think it should cost (based on a valuation report) and then the freeholder will decide if that sum is fair and whether or not to accept or negotiate my proposal?

*Is that about the sum of it?

*Does anyone have any experience of this? 

*Is their a calculation i can do beforehand to give me a rough idea of what it will cost?

*Should i be looking to extend with 94 years left?

*It states the lease extension would be for 90 years plus the unexpired term of the current lease - so would that make it a a 184 year lease (94 yrs unexpired plus the 90) if i do extend it?

Many Thanks

Lease Extension booklet.docx

On 9/24/2019 at 12:42 PM, Marc said:

.....and even then, it appears that i tell them what i think it should cost (based on a valuation report) and then the freeholder will decide if that sum is fair and whether or not to accept or negotiate my proposal?

That's how I read that document.

YMMV

Hi

Go to www.lease-advise.org it's a government funded website that packed with all the information you need.

They are impartial and transparent. They even have a lease extension calculator on their website.

Then...

Speak to a local property expert. Decent Estate Agent etc. And ask their opinion.