Hi, I'm Emily - Manchester Student Lets & London Crossrail

Hi everyone,

I'm Emily, I started in property investment when I was an undergraduate student in Manchester a few years ago. After seeing my friends and I get ripped off by landlords that charge huge rents and provide terrible service in return, I knew I could do a better job; providing a friendly and well-maintained student let for young people and a profitable business. Luckily, I was able to approach my parents, who are also property investors, with a business proposition. After months of careful research, I managed to persuade them to invest with me running the show, including an extensive redevelopment, and managing the property until the ownership can be transferred officially (I couldn't get a mortgage a the time as I was a student still). Since redevelopment, the let has been delivering a healthy profit which is slowly paying off my parents initial investment and they will hopefully be cash neutral very soon!

My current excitement is that I'm hoping to buy my first owner-occupy property in London, probably Woolwich, that I can live in and commute to work in South London. This will also, hopefully, help down the line in getting a buy-to-let mortgage to take on the Manchester student let. I'm looking for a 2-bed minimum, as I'm planning on renting out the 2nd bedroom to cover the mortgage costs, and have around £150,000 - a tight budget in London!

The reason I joined the Hub is that I know there is so much to learn and wonderful experts here to learn from, so any advice on buying in London, especially Woolwich or other Crossrail stations, would be greatly appreciated. Also, I'm very happy to give help or advice on student lets, particularly in Manchester, as this is a market I know well and have learnt a lot along the way (and still am)!

Many thanks,

Emily

Hi Emily,

Welcome to The Property Hub!