Liverpool and Manchester city centres flooded with off plan?

willv

Hi there,

I’m looking at Liverpool L1 and Manchester city centre to buy a couple of 2 bed flats. I’ve been browsing RM and Zoopla and I’m quite astonished by the amount of new build investment aimed properties offered by the likes of RW Invest. It looks like more than 90% are off plan properties. 
I’m very new to property and I know some would argue there’s a lot of demand for rented property, but this doesn’t seem particularly healthy to me. 

There are also quite a lot of listings dating a while back (2019, sometimes, much further).

What do you make of this?

I live and invest in Manchester, but not in the city centre for the reasons you mention. Have looked a few times, but always at the old building conversions which look a lot more interesting than the identikit new build blocks. 

Appreciate I'm at odds with the Robs on this, but I did some analysis last year of the typical sold prices in May across various postcodes over the previous 17 years (that sounds quite geeky when written down...) and the city centre did worse than various suburbs. The data is obviously a bit rough, and had to swap the month in a couple of years due to no sales or just one really expensive one, but the two city centre areas had grown by 30-55% in 17 years, whereas the suburbs (about 5 miles from the centre in different directions) had grown between 130 & 265%. Even allowing a margin of error, that suggests it would have been a bad place to buy.

Since then, more city centre apartments are being built, many of which are dubious as far being in the city centre, but very few houses are being built in the suburbs as there's little land available.

Add in the impact of coronavirus and will there even be the demand there was for city centre living over the next few years? Appreciate that's a black swan event, but not going to help

• 3 weeks later...