Best BTL areas for young professionals and families in Liverpool?

michael-a

Hi all,

Background:

I am planning to proceed with my first BTL property and, after having read a lot, I'd like to start with Liverpool. A bit more information on my background is in this posting here.

Research done so far:

I have already read the previous threads on Liverpool area advice, some of them are a few years old. Also read the recent Liverpool article in the Property Hub Magazine.

Now I'm looking to narrow down the choices and focus my search on specific areas and postcodes in Liverpool. Would appreciate your advice on areas in Liverpool which would fit my search criteria.

Search criteria:

• Property: 1 or 2 beds. No refurb preferred. Could do minor refurbs if discounts are good. Should be mortgageable. Freehold terraced preferred, but willing to consider flats in case they yield better.
  • Budget: £60-110k range (but could do up to £150k in case investments in that price range are more attractive)
  • Looking for at least 8% gross rental yield (hope that's realistic?)
  • Tenants: Targeting young professionals or families in decent employment (so looking for relatively trouble free tenants).
  • Area should have with good rental demand from targeted group of tenants, limited voids.
  • Capital growth potential is nice to have, but I'm more focused on yield. (The way I see it is that high yield = low price = potentially better capital growth potential?)
  • Not interested (for now at least) in off-plan investments, student lets, DSS, multi-lets.

Many thanks!
Michael

Hello Michael & Callum,

Funnily enough both your situations mirror my own as well.

I'm also based in London and am time poor looking to buy similar properties with similar tenant profiles in Liverpool.

So far I have been doing lots of desktop research and intend to visit Liverpool mid August.

Happy to connect and share ideas!

Geeta

Hi all,