BRR without owning own home

Hi guys,

Myself and my partner have around £60k to invest (savings/inheritance) and would like to go down the BRR route to put that money to work. We have heard obtaining a BTL mortgage will be difficult if we do not own our own home? I do not want to sink the money and not be able to recycle the majority back out for another investment.

Is it sensible to be looking at BRR instead of a home for us? We live/work in SW London, are both Ltd co directors and rent a good place for below market value.

Thanks!

As you've said you will struggle as to get BTL mortgage without having own residential. 

But if you're wanting to do a BRR you could look at paying cash then putting on to a BTL from there - think it's a little different if you've 'owned it' versus buying it with a mortgage.

Could also look at bridge to let - but I'm by no means an expert on that area.

As a different question - I ask this to everyone I see talking around this - why would you not want to secure you & your partner with your own home first?

Thanks Adam,

I think I am going round in circles really with the best thing to do. As we both have kept our incomes low trying to build our businesses a residential mortgage will be impossible to obtain for what property costs in the area (or even anywhere close!). I like the idea of recycling the money through BRRR and giving us an oppertunity to hedge our incomes with rental yeild, but perhaps a straightforward flip would be better to increase the pot for a personal home.

On 12/14/2020 at 7:24 PM, matt_a said:

Myself and my partner have around £60k to invest (savings/inheritance) and would like to go down the BRR route to put that money to work. We have heard obtaining a BTL mortgage will be difficult if we do not own our own home? I do not want to sink the money and not be able to recycle the majority back out for another investment.