Hello from Norfolk (new investor alert)

jamesoc

Hello I'm James,

If you are like me you'll have binged The Property Hub, bought yourself as many books to read on the subject, and spent hours researching investment strategies and properties because you live life wildly and that's how you get your kicks.

I'm 26 and new to property investment, it'd be great to chat to anyone in a similar place, and build a network of like minded people. I may be able to offer some guidance on where to look for good research on local economic fundamentals.

About me, I studied economics at university, and have worked in economic development roles at a Local Authority and County level, before becoming a Business and Economics secondary teacher.

I dabble in stocks as a hobby only.

My personal goal is to develop a property investment portfolio that generates enough income to give myself and my partner the choice of when and for how long we want to work.

As of today I'm looking to buy my first BTL property, I have £40,000 and am looking for a mortgage broker, let me know if you've used one that you would recommend. I'm choosing between Manchester or Leeds, but if the podcast has taught me anything it's to not get too hung up on where to invest. I'll be targetting 1 to 2 bed properties circa the £100,000-£115,000 value to begin with. These will be let out with young professionals in mind.

Here's to 2021 and aiming high. 2020 can get in the bin already.

• 2 weeks later...

Hi James - welcome to the forum, it's great to have you here!

Great to see someone as young as yourself with such a detailed plan of action. I can imagine the economics degree will definitely come in handy when it comes to achieving your goals 😀 Have you done a lot of reading into Manchester and Leeds before deciding to focus on those places, or did you already have good built-in knowledge of them?