Why do you want to invest?

Hi all, being at the start of my own property journey, I was wondering what your personal main reasons are for wanting to invest in property? Is securing long term assets or cashflow important to you? Generational wealth? Simply better return on your money compared to bank rates? 

Look forward to hopefully hearing back from some of you!

Hiya,

I used to work in the property industry and I have a couple friends and family who are property investors. I guess I’ve got some knowledge and support behind me which I’m grateful for. My sis and I have also recently acquired a limited company with 2 BTL’s already. I’m selling my flat so will invest some of that money into buying BTL’s up North. I don’t want to work for someone else. I don’t want to live to work so it’s important for me to have long term investment + have the cash flow to live comfortably. I don’t need a luxurious lifestyle as life’s not about that for me personally, it’s about having more time to do the things I want to do and be able to spend time with my future family/kids (I don’t have any yet) without the worry of a 9-5 job getting in the way. I therefore have goals of growing the portfolio to AT LEAST 10 properties - a mix of BTL’s AND HMO’s - by the time I’m 40 (I’m 31) which I think is absolutely doable. 

What about you?

Hi Rose,

Thanks for the response!

For me it's about long term investment and creating (semi) passive income for myself. I don't want to earn my money for it to just sit in a bank account and earn 0.0X% in the bank, I want my money to work hard for me. A big thing for me is family as well, I really want to be able to pass property down and create some generational wealth.

I am also now packaging BTL deals in the Midlands area to investors having gone through training over the past year or so. I want to use sourcing fees to help fund my own portfolio while helping others do the same!

Thanks!