Ltd company for an expat

ivan j

Hello everyone,

I am an expat, looking to set up a limited company in the UK. 

Do any other expats have experience of setting up companies? Do you have the same access to lending as companies with UK-based owners?

As an expat, the mortgages I can get at the moment have certain restrictions, for example;

- higher rates (although this is probably similar to company lending rates)

- minimum mortgage loans (around £100,000)

- no off-plan purchases

Using a Ltd company would hopefully provide more flexibility (and has other advantages). 

I have some property experience with three UK properties held privately. 

I will speak with some lenders, but it would be great if anyone could share real experiences.

Thanks!

• 2 months later...

Hi AH,

No responses on this I'm afraid. 

But I read a couple of books by Iain Wallis, did some research on the HMRC site and have spoken to some mortgage brokers. 

So to comment on expat mortgages -  

- higher rates (although this is probably similar to company lending rates) - seems that company rates and expat rates are broadly similar

- minimum mortgage loans (around £100,000) - I could only find mortgages of less than 100k for rates that are too high (7-8%)

- no off-plan purchases - this is not strictly true. Although lenders say that they will not lend for off-plan, in fact when I dug deeper, I found that I can borrow for off-plan, but only if the lender can perform a valuation on the property closer to construction. Of course in the meantime conditions could change, but if you are willing to assume that conditions will be broadly the same, then mortgages do look to be possible. 

I am still looking into forming a company for future purchases.

• 3 weeks later...

Hi JJ,