Hello from the Northeast!!

Hi folks,

Thought i'd quickly introduce myself:  I'm Dave, i'm born and bred in Northumberland and now live in Newcastle upon Tyne.  I've been living here for the last 10 years after a brief spell at university in Leeds.  

I've been investing in property for the last 3 years; mainly flipping property, but have also renovated several HMOs which I now rent out.  This allowed me to quit my job to work full time in property.

I plan to carry on investing in Newcastle and the surrounding area, although I'd also be open to spreading my wings and looking elsewhere, particularly areas with good capital growth.  I sometimes think just owning a property in London is more profitable than me working tirelessly up North trying to earn a living!  I aim to keep adding to my BLT portfolio and improving my cashflow, but also to free up my time so I can flip more property.  I previously worked as an M&E contractor (plumbing, heating and electrics) so like getting my hands dirty, although it sometimes makes more sense to get others in to speed things up!

Would be great to get to know other investors from the area and build a network, especially anyone who can help finding great deals!

Thanks for reading

Dave

Hi Dave

I'm a newbie to this forum too. I'm a Londoner but my other half is from County Durham. We are debating the London v the NE debate at the moment.

We are just starting to invest so don't have lot of spare capital although can get access to funds so the NE is calling us. The stamp duty hike is also making London less appealing.

Having said that my market knowledge (and investment history) in London is good whereas we'd be almost starting from scratch in the NE. If you've got a commercial mind set, it is easy to see the up and coming areas of London as the pace of gentrification. e.g. we've made over £250k on a £280k flat in Brixton bought at market value just pre-crash in 2008.