Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to property investment, am in the process of buying my second BTL property and the environmental searches have come back with a moderate to high risk of natural ground subsidence (I have not yet had my survey done). Has anyone else had the experience of dealing with this finding? My solicitor is very dismissive of the issue, my broker not so much.

Thanks for any comments anyone has!

Vanessa

Hi Vanessa,

I have found some information online, which you may find helpful:

A spokesman from Landmark said: The replies given in section 4b of the envirosearch report are based on the 1:50,000 Geosure datasets provided by the British Geological Survey. 

The Geosure datasets cover the following hazards and give an indication of potential ground subsidence from natural sources:

• Potential for collapsible ground stability hazards

• Potential for compressible ground stability hazards

• Potential for ground dissolution stability hazards

• Potential for landslide ground stability hazards

• Potential for shrinking or swelling clay ground stability hazards

• Potential for running sand ground stability hazards

The possible rating levels for this dataset are high, moderate, low, very low and no potential.

In this case, the report is advising that at least one of the above hazards has been identified at a 'moderate' level. 

It is reporting the worst case scenario across all of the above hazards within 50 metres from the centre of the search.

Have you found a Surveyor to inspect the property? This will be your next step, in finding out more detailed information about the property and whether there are any signs of historical or current structural movement or subsidence. 

I am the Director of a national a brokerage for RICS Chartered Surveyors, so please let me know if this is something we can help with. Our website is: www.surveybooker.com.

Kind regards,

Zak