London vs. Manchester vs. Edinburgh

Hi everyone - I am a newbie to BTL property investment - my husband & I currently own our home in London but am looking for opportunities to make our income grow. My husband is an architectural designer and I am an interior architect/designer. We would ideally want to buy up properties to renovate in London in the future when we have more capital although properties in London are probably saturated. We are therefore looking at buying BTL properties elsewhere that do not need work. We were thinking to start with buying something in Manchester as one can get a decent 1-2 bedroom for very little compared to London prices. However, we are slightly worried by the impact of Brexit and am thinking Edinburgh could be a safer choice since they could have another referendum? What are people's thoughts on that and if anyone has experience investing in Edinburgh? Many thanks in advance.

Hi MTY

A further future Scotish referendum would add more uncertainty and could slow down price rises. If you get your timing right you could pick up a barging but you would have to wait.

In the meantime prices are rising and you could miss out. I live in Greater Manchester and its a great place to invest in. I invested in my first Manchester property in 2004. Happy to help further if needed (amjedkhan@talktalk.net).

Hi MTY

My opinion is Brexit will have little impact on most domestic property markets in the short to medium term, and I'm yet to be convinced it will have a great impact longer term.  The UK remains a great place to invest for domestic investors and foreign investors and for most areas I don't see that changing even when we've left the EU.  London may be the exception, but that might just be a cooling rather than anything more.