Limited company - Exit Plan

Hi, i'm new to The Property Hub and looking at starting a limited company with me friend to begin creating a property portfolio.

We need to create an Exit Plan for when one of us decide they either want to leave the company and cash out or if death occurs.  As there will be significant assets in the company how would we best plan for this?

Hoping you can help! 

thanks

• 3 weeks later...

Hi Aidan,

Having just written my business plan a few months ago, I can share some of my considerations on this topic. I went into business with a partner where I own the majority stake and he owns a minority. It was difficult planning for an exit because both of us were so excited to start the business, we didn't want to think about how it ends!

1. Death - the first option is obviously family. The best thing to do is make a Will and appoint your beneficiaries. They will simply inherit your share of the business and be entitled to your profits going forward.

2. Sell - if one of you decides to sell their stake of the company in the future, I would advise on certain conditions that I put in my shareholders agreement - a.) that should one of the shareholders decide to sell any or all of their stake, they must first offer it to the other shareholder, b.) That the directors have to approve each sale (I have 3 directors - me, the other shareholder and an independent acquaintance).

3. Close - You can decide to close down the business and each of you takes their share. If you're no longer co-investors, it may be more beneficial for you to operate as a sole-trader going forward.

Have a look at the below, which has a pretty good guide:

http://www.lawdonut.co.uk/business/business-ownership-and-management/shares-and-shareholders/issuing-and-transferring-private-company-shares-faqs

Thanks for the reply Stoil.

I appreciate the feedback. I probably should have been a bit more specific as to what my questions are.