John Coventry

2 bed terrace in Hartlepool

Hi everyone.

I have a problem that I did not believe when I first encountered it. I have been buying houses since 2006 and have made many, many mistakes in that time, I did not have the resources that are around today.

In 2006 I bought a 2 bed terraced house in Hartlepool for £63000 with a mortgage of £54000 (85% was normal then) This house has dropped in value to an estimated £20000 - £30000 so I can not sell it and redeem the mortgage.

My immediate problem is that I cannot get a tenant as Hartlepool now seems to be awash with empty houses for rent and not enough tenants! A recent count on Rightmove showed 107 2 bed houses to rent in the area.

I have spoken to the Empty Homes Officer and the Homeless Team at Hartlepool Council who both tell me that there are too many houses to rent and not enough tenants. The Officer also said that the council or the Housing Association they work with also had problems filling their properties. I am asking £350 pm rent as at that rate a 2 bed LHA entitlement could keep his £15 per week as he can do. The government would even pay the tenant to live there! this house has been empty for a year and if it stays empty for 2 years the council tell me that they will charge me 150% of the council tax because it is empty although they are no help in finding me someone. I pay council tax now at full rate even though it is empty also water rates. these 2 bills are costing me nearly twice the mortgage. Also the property is very difficult to insure with limited cover.

Does anybody have any suggestions on how to rectify the problem or is anyone else with properties in Hartlepool who are facing a similar problem

Thanks

Johncov 

I changed to the above letting agent who is very local to the house and he had a tenant in there in 5 days.

He is also a property investor and knows what you need so I recommend him so far.

UPDATE

I would like to update this topic as I have now sold this property.