Hello All,

Quick bit of background: I am moving out of London (with, it seems, the rest of London) down to Brighton.

We feel we have made a fair amount of money on our 2 bed flat, and would like to release equity to fund a deposit on a new property, plus, if we can, a further BTL.

I have a mortgage advisor and he is setting me up on a 75% interest only BTL mortgage based on quite a high (but not ridiculous) valuation, and is sending the surveyor round asap.

So, my question is as follows:

How do I make sure the surveyor comes round and values the property at what I would love it to be valued at?

I have no experience of this and don't know the procedure at all....

I'm guessing that it needs to be really presentable, but do you recommend I get the scented candles out? Or perhaps prepare a light avocado salad for us both to enjoy?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Charlie

Hey Charlie,

this is one of my favourite topics, mostly I guess because I've done something similar to what you've described a couple of times.

I remortgaged in January to extract equity, and also being in London the value I gave my mortgage broker seemed like a silly amount.

The value I gave came after having asked a couple of Estate Agents around to value the property.

I took the lower of those valuations.

The surveyor who came to value the property was in my house for maybe 10 minutes.

He had some fancy giszo that sent lazer beams between sets of walls, to determine the sq footage I imagine.

He didn't ask anything about the work we'd done on the property, certificates or anything.

Our guy classed our property as a 3-bed, even though we have a 4th room that could be used as a bedroom.

We currently use it as an office and in hindsight had it been dressed as a bedroom that may have meant it would have been classed as a 4th bedroom.

If you have any rooms like that, might be worth presenting them differently.