Hi

I am completely new to the Property Hub and this is my first post.

I need to provide the background to my story to illustrate my  fairly tricky dilemma.

I bought a property back 2006 for £75,00 on  a joint interest only BTL mortgage.   No problems, we rented it out and had good and bad tenants along the way.  I managed the lettings myself, despite knowing nothing at all about being a Landlord.

Anyway, sadly my husband became my ex-husband and I ended up moving into the property as a means of removing myself from a very bad situation in the family home.  I eventually moved out then he moved in with his new partner.  

He lived there for a number of years and has just moved out so now the property is finally empty.  

Unfortunately, he has not maintained the property and it does need some renovation  / possible building works.   It's a gable end terrace and I'm concerned about the condition of the property and possible damp.  It also needs some TLC inside.

The other problem is that as I bought it during the property boom, prices in that area have either fallen or remained the same over the past 11 years so there is no equity here.  So I'm also concerned it could be in negative equity.    There is still £70,000 outstanding on the mortgage.  I have not had a formal valuation but from my research, at best it's worth between £60k - 70k.

So my dilemmas are multiple - 

*  Possible Negative equity

* Requires renovations with no access to immediate funds to complete the work

* Do I sell up or try to remortgage in my own name.

* Can I remortgage with a BTL on one part-time income ? (I work part-time, receive tax credits , single mum etc)

*Could an Investor help ?  If so, where do I find someone reputable ?

*Should I try to get a bridging loan to fund the renovations ?

One one hand,  I just want to get it off my hands as it has been like a millstone round my neck for the past 10 years.