10% ROI and 20% BMV - Does that really exist or is that a marketing angle?

Hello,

I am new to the property hub but have previously made two BTL purchases. Both of them, comparing to what R&R describe as a good investment (20% BMV, aiming towards 10% ROI) are crap. In terms of net yield, I'm getting something around 4.5%, which I'm not happy with, but they rent really really well.

I have been looking (through the traditional channels I admit) for over 6 months now in various locations (Liverpool, Manchester, Derby, Nottingham, Leeds), and CANNOT for the life of me find anything like what R&R speak of that isn't in 1. Need of serious renovating (that will chew up my capital growth) 2. In a rough area that will have no/lower capital growth and unreliable tenant.

This isn't just a rant though :) I'm really interested/hoping to know if there are people out there (here) that are willing to share their experience - have they found anything like that?

My "type" of investment is either professional let apartment or 2-bed house, no students, no DSS/rough areas, no major renovations (I can handle new carpets and paint :P). Up to £160k.

It well may be that my "type" of investment property isn't suitable for the above, but R&R didn't mention that in their strategy podcast.

Thanks in advance,

Moore

#frustratedinvestor

Hi Moore,

Not that I'm an experienced investor myself, still a newbie. I & my partner recently bought a 3 bed flat in Aberdeen at around 20% BMV in December 2017. The flat below sold for £240k in August 2017 and others in the area were selling around £250k mark. Both flats (ours and the one below) were taken as part exchange from the developer from the previous owners so the developer was willing to sell on quick and at a discount. The flat was 5 years old and still in pristine condition and no money was spent on any renovations except for general cleaning etc