Looking For Your Advice & Opinions Please! (Inheritance Tax/gifting property)

Hi everyone, 

I'd be keen to hear your opinions on the following scenario and how best to achieve what we're aiming for (sorry if I waffle on!)..

My situation: I have been investing in property for about 3 years and have a small portfolio of 5 single lets. I plan to refinance on these houses and buy more properties in the coming years, however as they're all in their initial mortgage terms at the moment, I won't be able to do this until 2015/16 (without facing high redemption fees!) which is where my Dad comes in....

My Dads situation: My Dad's house is mortgage free and worth around £200k. He has lived with his partner for the past 3 years and during this time he has rented his property out. My Dad is aged 69 and is retired. He is at a stage in his life where he is thinking about his assets and how best to pass them on to me now as opposed to when he passes away. 

What we want to achieve: In an ideal world, my Dad would like to give me his house now but continue to receive the rent that the property receives. I would then take out a mortgage on the property and be solely responsible for it (unless there are benefits to my Dad being on the mortgage??). I'd use the released equity (£80k ish) to purchase two properties either solely in my name or with my dad if there is a benefit to this.