Hi 

I'm Laura and I'm new to the Property Hub. 

I've been training in property for about 18 months with my mentor (my background is in project management). 

I wondered if anyone had any good tips on how to find JV partners. I've been attending a lot of property and business networking events but so far haven't found anyone to work with. 

I've secured a piece of land using a purchase option and am currently applying for planning permission. If all goes to plan I'll need a JV partner in approximately 6 months time. 

Any tips anyone can provide would be much appreciated. 

Morning Laura, 

Great to have you on the forum and it already sounds like you know what you're doing, as you're already familiar with putting options in place. With regards to Joint venture partnerships. My main view would be to make sure you have clear goals as to who you want as a partner, so weather that is a particular skill set or type of person to work with. 

@richard brown you have given great advice on this in the past, what would be your advise?

I hope that helps and anything else, just ask. 

Cheers

Phil

Thanks Phil and hello Laura

Raising funds for our development activities is a skill-set that we need to hone if we are to reach our full potential as developers.

OK, so there is an iceberg effect going here! Firstly, what is above the surface...which I have summarised below.

There are 6 main aspects to consider when it comes to joint ventures:
1. The JV partner (who they are, their reputation, track record, experience, standing, etc.).
2. The project (it's viability, comparable & underlining evidence, the business plan, different exits, contingencies, etc.).
3. The commercial arrangements (the timings, numbers, risks, profit shares / returns, etc.).
4. The legal and other written basis of the agreement (loan agreement, JV agreement, declaration of trust, buyout, deadlock, etc.).
5. Your security and protection (legal charge, guarantees, LTV, etc.).