paterson00

Choosing a letting agent

Hi all, 

I have a property in the UK and I now live in Australia.  I have been renting the property out for almost 7 years but I think now it is time to put it with a letting agent and let them have the headaches.

My question is, how do I choose a good one?  My property is in Gillingham in Kent if anyone has any recommendations.

Regards, 

Paul

Hi Paul, I cant recommend anyone in that area of the UK, but try doing a quick google and check out the google reviews. Or have a look at  allagents.co.uk

Good luck.

Cheers, Mark

Thanks Mark.  Being so far away for so long now I am well out of touch with it. 

The manager fees seem huge too compared with the UK.  15%?  Plus then there are 120 pounds per house visit then 15% on top of any bills for workmen to turn up and be managed so a 500 pound bill from a boiler engineer turns into 575 pounds just for the manager to do their job and manage the property?  In Australia I pay 8.5% for my manager and that is it...  no extras for this that and the other except for set up of a new tenant.  Seems ridiculous at first glance.

Anyway, enough whinging, I'll get a reputation ( whinging POM)

I wouldn't pay more than 10% including all the 3-6 monthly inspections and showing perspective tenants around when its vacant. Usually standard to pay about £300 for tenant find on a fully managed.

The fees quoted on their websites are usually inflated for some reason. Often quote 14% but in reality are much less...

Paul,