A thermostat in every room ? HMO advice requested

tara star

Dear Hubbers

HI, I'm a HMO newbie and grateful for your advice.

I've got a 6 bed HMO , 2 storey in the works . All bills will be included. I've got myself a bit confused with the type of thermostat arrangement to set up. Should I just have a single thermostat in a communal area , one on each floor or one in each room ( super pricey to set up)

I'd really appreciate advice on how to keep  bills down whilst making sure everyone is comfortable . Having a thermostat in each room seems like the most comprehensive solution but its the most costly.

Any advice on an easy -to -use brand which has worked for you and  thermostat strategy would be gratefully received.

I appreciate your time Hubbers!

• 2 weeks later...

Hi, I have HMOs and do all inclusive. I think multiple room stats would be massive expense and over the top, I assume you'd then need a multi zone boiler or multiple boilers. Ideally you want the house a little to warm so they wont use electric heaters. Then the ones that are too hot can manually adjust the radiators in their room.

The below is a previous post Ive made on a similar subject.

I have installed OWL Intuition room stats and electricity monitors in my houses. I like them as I can access a graph of usage online for both heating and electric. It is also only really controllable from online or the app, so tenants cant change heating setting.

Back in 2010 one of my HMOs which is 8 bedroom was costing £380 per month. I have had that as low as £135 at one point but back around £170 per month right now, that's for gas and electric. I got it down using the OWL & replacing old appliances, fridges, freezer, dryer, etc....I think one old freezer was really using a lot of juice. oh, Ive got a cheap Beko dryers that have sensor drying so will cut out when the clothes are dry. That has to be more efficient! :-)