wesley onofri

Greetings from Mauritius

Hello Hubbers,

I have been investing in the UK property market for a few years now and am always looking for a good deal. Strategy has buying new builds but seeing it has been a little limited on the building cashflow front I am looking into other options.

Anyway looking to meet like minded people to discuss ideas with. Any Mauritian residents on propertyhub? Would be awesome if we could create a meet up, might be a little ambitious...

Im not a Mauritian, but i was just interested in your comment "...Strategy has buying new builds but seeing it has been a little limited on the building cashflow front...".  Is that because:

- you have been buying off plan;

- buying in low yield areas (e.g. London);

- you are unable to let your new build properties;

- some other reason?

Additionally, how have you been identifying your investments? Do you find them directly yourself or do you use a sourcing company?  

Hey Andrew

Sorry for the late response.

I started investing in the UK with some experience in another market, turns out it's quite different but the basics are similar. As I dont live in the UK I saw it fit to deal with a sourcing company. To answer your questions:

1. Yes have bought 4 units off plan over the past 10 years. The worst example was in Sheffield 7 years before completion. Apon completion I it was valued at less than asking... Just saying be careful as future prices are built into the asking.

2. My first was in Leeds but yes because I had some amazing capital growth on a place in Croydon so figured London was the place. Not so much for rental return.

3. All of them are let and are solid investments with good fundamentals. Just would have liked to have gotten better ROI. Now knowing my cashflow goals I would have hit them already had I focused on that.

My goal now is to NET 7% before leverage.

No need to apologize re the timing of your response, Wesley.