shillam

Question for experienced BTL investors in Greater Manchester

Hello fellow Property Hub community 

I am a novice investor and am considering Wythenshawe or Wilmslow for a BTL investment property. I just wondered what others would choose between a 2 bed apartment in Wilmslow or a 3 bed semi-detached house in Wythenshawe. Both properties are leasehold and relatively new (built around 1999). Rental yield is important but I’m thinking more about capital growth as well. I’m considering these investment locations due to Manchester the Airport City project. 

Please let me know your thoughts and also your reasons for choosing one area and not  the other.

Thank you in advance for your time.

Kind regards

ShillaM

Probably shouldn't be posting here as I don't invest in Greater (or even Lesser) Manchester.

Hey hoo, what could possibly go wrong....

We have established that you are primarily after capital growth with yield as a secondary factor. But that is really all you have supplied. 

It's all about numbers. Presumabily you have all the numbers to compare the two? What do they say?

Forget the area for the moment, which property does your number crunching say is the best? We can come back to the area later...

Dear Dennis

Many thanks for your response. Purchase price and projected rental yield is not too different between the two properties. Annual ground rent for the Wythenshawe 3 bed semi is £264 while total annual charges for the Wilmslow 2 bed apartment is £1100+.

Thank you.

23 hours ago, investwithjim said:

Generally I would go look for freehold. Any reason your looking at leasehold properties

Dear Investwithjim

Thank you for your response. I initially restricted myself to freehold properties but was struggling to find suitable properties within my budget. I am looking for properties that are ready to move into. May I ask why you would not consider leasehold at all?