Hello from Hull! Just starting out, help!

Hello everyone I'm James from Hull. I am new to property investing and I am still waiting to start my journey.

I have a few ideas of how I want to start my portfolio but am searching for any advice and tips I can get!

I have recently bought and read the property hubs "100 property investment tips" but would like more advice on how to get started.

My plan is to start cheap with a 25% buy-to-let mortgage. Buy BMV and renovate and remortgage. Take the equity and put that I to another property.

Can anyone from Hull and surrounding areas give me any advice on how they started there journey? E.g. How much capital you started with? What type of properties you targeted? And your plans and goals.

Any advice or tips would be appreciated.

Thanks guys!

Hi James,

Welcome to The Property Hub!

I've personally invested in Hull and so has Rob D, so we're investment fans of Hull.

To get started begin with the end in mind, set clear (SMART) goals and work back from there.

Better still listen to this recent series of podcasts Rob and I put together.

How to get started in property investment

Good luck!

Hi James,

I've just joined as well and have very similar ambitions it seems (although I haven't considered Hull...yet!). Although I'm still a newbie I would recommended soaking in as much advice as possible, online and in books, before you start approaching estate agents. You will want to make the right impression when you do start talking to them and at the very least sound knowledgeable. I've been impressed with the podcasts I've listened to on Rob's list so there's a good place to start but there's loads of other resources that are easy to search for. Please note: I'm only delaying you a week or two while you do this - I'm not advocating procrastination :)

I hope that's a bit helpful.

Dean 

Hi James