John, a newbie in SE London who is ready to go

Hi All,

Got here through the property geek podcasts. Been reading the forums for the last few weeks now, which has been a great form of motivation for me. Thanks everyone.

I am John and I am a newbie investor. I have a one bed property in Streatham, London, that is a BTL. Came about accidentally, but been going well for the last few years. I have earmarked 2014 as the year I get my first ‘proper’ investment and I am keen to learn from this great community of people.

My aim is to buy at least one BTL property per year for the next 10 years. I have just remortgaged to release the funds for the next purchase. I know that the main hurdle I have to overcome now is taking action. 

BTL investment is the path I have decided on with a focus on SE London (Catford, Grove Park etc.)

Would appreciate any recommendations for good mortgage brokers and would love to hear from any investors focussed on the South London area.

Thanks,
John

Welcome John! You're right that taking action is the main hurdle, but it sounds like you're mentally well on your way. I like the "one per year" plan: it's easy enough not to be too daunting, but will still compound to make a huge difference to your life in 10 years.

South of the river is another world to me, but I'm sure others will be able to help you with some local knowledge :)

John