Hi all,

Just joined the property hub after becoming addicted to the ever helpful podcasts!  I'm after some advice or thoughts on buy-to-let properties in the Manchester area.

This will be my first investment property and due to current situation will need to be very hands off.  For that reason I've been looking at the mass of new build developments that are cropping up across the city centre and Salford (walking distance to city centre, i.e. Middlewood Locks).    

Does anyone have any thoughts on whether the amount of new build developments imposes a risk on both rental opportunities and re-sell later down the line?  I'm looking for a property that has good capital growth potential and reasonable rental yield.  

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Hannah 

• 3 weeks later...

I'm no expert on any of this, just my logical opinion.

I would have thought that the biggest risks with buying in these new developments is that the ticket price is often artificially high (a bit like when you buy a new car), and you will be competing with a lot of other landlords for tenants when the development is completed.

I often notice while looking at price histories that for blocks completed a few years ago people bought for relatively high prices, then sold a few years later at similar or even up to 20% less value. This risk could be avoided if you get a true BMV price, but it would be difficult to get a developer a discount by 20%.

The competition for tenants is something that will probably go in time and you could deal with it in the short term by having lower rents, but that would obviously be detrimental to your short term yield.

Personally I am looking at higher end, nearly new properties as they have most of the benefits and less of the potential down side.

Hi Hannah

Episode 211 from the Robs outline the pros and cons of buying a new build, which provides a good overview of the property type itself.