Boiler spec? Is a boiler a boiler?

Can anyone offer advice on boiler specification when installing a new combi?

As part of a refurb on a 2bed flat I am intending on replacing the rather antiquated boiler, and removing the hot water tank and associated parts. A plumbing & heating engineer (recommended by a friend) has priced to install a new Worcester  (32 CDi Compact) Combi boiler, which all seems fine, however, following subsequent conversations with another plumber it seems that Worcester are the Rolls Royce of boilers and he recommends something much more keenly priced for a rental property. 

Now, I have many years of experience in restoring classic vehicles and can appreciate inherent differences in build quality / engineering standards and hence longevity, and the sensory pleasures to be had on a sunny day; in listening to a well tuned engine, feeling how the chassis and suspension work beneath you on country roads, and smiling as the beautifully designed interior provides a comfortable place from which to absorb these experiences.

But is a boiler a boiler? What will a £1000 boiler give me that a £600 won't? Improved reliability? Will it last 20 years? Smaller service costs and longer intervals? Will it be a pleasure to listen to?

All thoughts and advice appreciated.

Thanks

Peter

Hi Peter 

Different installers prefer different manufacturers just as you might prefer a Mercedes to a BMW.

Worcester, Vaillant and Viessmann are your top end boiler manufacturers and the likes of ideal, baxi/potterton/main (same company) are also decent but generally priced lower. I would avoid a manufacturer you've not heard of and buy a boiler that has a minimum of a 5 year warranty.

When having a new boiler installed make sure the installer flushes the system and installs a magnaclean or similar filter. These two steps alone are a great help in ensuring the longevity of whatever boiler you decide on.