Hi

I am new to the property hub but love all the information and podcasts!  I need some advice.  I am remorgaging my 4 bed rental in Clapham, London.  It is a great rental and always has been.  We are applying to split the flat into 2 separate appartments.

My question is: given that Labour government is likely to be voted in sooner rather than later, should I go for 5 years locked into a higher interest rate or 2 years at a lower rate?

With the five years, my thinking is that this would see us through any possible turbulance in the marketplace whereby it would be even more difficult to re finance. No one can see into the future but the word 'greedy landlords' has been banded around too much.

Would really love your thoughts and input.  Many thanks and good luck with all your own ventures. 

We're just getting two remortgages and an new mortgage and I've been going through the same process. We've ended up going with 5 years, taking all costs into account they end up being about 20% a month more expensive, for the first two years at least, but I can only see one direction for interest rates to go at the moment.

Good question Lizzizita,

Points to consider are:

1. Will you want to take equity out of the property in the next five years? I like 2 year fixed as I then re-mortgage based on value I've added and / or rising property prices to withdraw equity for my next purchase.  Being tied in for 5 years really affect me but that is just my strategy, it's worked well just now as property prices are rising nicely in my area.